As IF!

         clueless_beverly_hills_style1

The Godfather, Pretty Woman, Schindler’s List, Shawshank Dedemption…..Clueless. Classics. You might ask yourself “Clueless? Really?”. Yes really. It is a timeless classic and if you are in your late 20’s to mid-to-late 30’s you know exactly what I am talking about. This film came out in 1995 and has stayed in our minds til this day. There’s not a girl I know who doesn’t quote it or know everything about it! It was an inspiration to many of us fashion wise (who didn’t want knee-high white socks after they watched this movie?) and let’s not forget the amazing one-liners that have been derived from this movie (and have remained in my vocabulary til this day).

Cher Horowitz (played by Alicia Silverstone) was the popular and beautiful daughter of a powerful lawyer but who I find to be a good role model for girls. Sure she may be a tad on the spoiled side, however, she was still a good student, obeyed her father’s wishes and wasn’t promiscuous with boys. She believed that what you wore said a lot about yourself and helped people feel better about themselves. When she helped the adorable Tai (played by the late Brittany Murphy) not only did she change her wardrobe, but also wanted her to strengthen her vocabulary (“Yeah, I hope not sporadically”), and ultimately, wanted to be her friend. Through the funny jokes and quirky scenes, there is so much  more to take away from this film than meets the eye.

This movie was released 18 years ago and fashion has obviously changed and evolved since then but that doesn’t mean that aspects of the fashion of the film isn’t still inspirational and relevant today. We can all take a few tips from Cher’s massive closet (God how I wish I had that revolving closet, which I recently found out actually exists!).

90s-preppy-girl-fashion-film--large-msg-132881535922

Simple, adorable, basic. If you don’t own a plain white fitted t-shirt, then go out and buy yourself one pronto! It is a must in every girl’s (and guy’s ) closet. You can dress it up with accessories as did Cher to make it appropriate for work or to hang out with friends! Sometimes simple is the way to go. Also would it appropriate if I brought that pen to my next important meeting?

CluelessCher

Candy, popcorn and cardigans, those are my 3 weaknesses. The amount of cardigans I own is probably abnormal to most, but to me, I don’t have enough! A cardigan is basic yet preppy and convenient. I usually always sport it as Cher did, with a white t-shirt from under. It’s perfect for when I go to work, and when I go to some informal suppers. It looks put together without being too professional looking. What I love the most about them is that you can get them in any color and pattern! You don’t have to do the boring black one. By all means, take it up a knotch as Cher did with her banana yellow one!

Clueless - Cher (Alaia)

Now I am not saying I would wear this jacket, but how fabulous does she look? The boa detailing on the collar screams out glam. But I would like to point out the slight peplum accent this jacket has. And what is extremely popular nowadays? You guessed correctly: peplum! For 1995 Cher was way ahead of her time!

1

Cher is wearing this sweet girly dress like she’s doing it a favor. It’s pastel color is flattering and I love how her hair is just so soft looking and natural.

clueless-cher-calvin-klein

I’ve said time and time again how much I love a simple white dress. For her first “date” with Christian, Cher decided to wear this very form-fitting Calvin Klein dress that made her father not very pleased but definitely caught the attention of her ex-step-brother (and the love of my life) Josh (played by the adorable Paul Rudd).

6257964657_16bccd1277

Sheer tops with tank tops from under are seen more and more in stores now. The tops may not be as sheer however, Cher was definitely onto something here!

123046__clueless_l

One of my favorite outfits of the movie and for so many different reasons. Firstly, who doesn’t love a good blazer? The black blazer with the white shirt from under is classic and ultimately, timeless. Secondly, my sister had that exact same skirt and I was in absolute awe of her. Argile is always preppy and I love how the pattern makes a simple short skirt, pop from the outfit.

plaid

Every time I go on a website to do some online shopping (Mom I promise it’s not that often) I see plaid everywhere. Fitted or loose plaid shirts are all the rage right now and other than Nirvana, I believe Cher had a huge say as to why (maybe that’s a bit of a stretch, but let me believe whatever I want). She took plaid to a whole other level but needless to say, she looked good in every outfit! Not everyone can pull off an entire yellow plaid ensemble!  

Now if you think this is the end of the Clueless fashion analysis, AS IF! Stay tuned for more Clueless on Wednesday as we keep on rummaging through Cher’s infiinte closet of goodies!

Leave a Reply

